Skip to main content

Australia was inhabited by indigenous Australians (Aboriginals) for about 60,000 years before the first British settlement in the 1788.

Australia Flag on SelfishMe Travel

Main Language: English

Capital City: Canberra

Largest CitySydney

Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)

Australia Day: January 26

Population: 25+ million

Australia is not only a Country but also the mainland of a Continent.

Australia is nearly the same size as the Continental USA.

Image Credit: The Australian Government.

Most of Australia is desert so the majority of the population lives in coastal cities.

The states and territories of Australia - image provided by Move to Australia

Australia has six states and two major mainland territories:

  • New South Wales (NSW): Sydney is the state capital.
  • Queensland (QLD): Brisbane is the state capital and the Great Barrier Reef is in this state.
  • South Australia (SA): Adelaide is the state capital.
  • Tasmania (TAS): Hobart is the state capital.
  • Victoria (VIC): Melbourne is the state capital.
  • Western Australia (WA): Perth is the state capital.
  • Australian Capital Territory (ACT): a federal district where Canberra is the capital city (like Washington DC in the USA)
  • Northern Territory (NT): Darwin is the state capital.

Australia drives on the left side of road so steering wheel is on the right side of a car (opposite of the USA).

If you’d like to learn more about Australia then click this link: Australia in Brief.


Danielle Lewis

Danielle Lewis is a Travel Agent/Advisor who specializes in helping busy Women plan customized Culinary and Wildlife vacations worldwide. #GoSeeDoBe #SelfishMeTravel

What's on your mind?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

COVID-19 Coronavirus Updates

As new information continues to emerge on COVID-19, please review our page for links to reliable sources for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

Learn More